The McConnell House, completed in 1834 by master craftsmen with the help of enslaved workers, was only lived in by its original owner, John McConnell, for a few weeks before he passed away. The house was built as a four-room farmhouse with several buildings sitting adjacent on the property, including a coal house and a one-room brick law office. The breathtaking woodwork inside of the house was acquired from an old hotel down the river in Louisville, Ky. The house has switched hands several times throughout the years and is now owned and operated by the Heritage Arts, Science, and Tourism Center. The historic landmark has survived almost 200 years of inclement weather, a civil war, and severe neglect. It has been listed on the National Register of Historic Places since 1975. The property has been restored and is available to tour as well as being available to rent for private functions.