Clio Logo
This is a contributing entry for Oasis Spaces Green Book Project: Downtown Raleigh Walking Tour and only appears as part of that tour.Learn More.

This site was listed in the Green Book from 1947-1954 as an auto garage. The original structure has been demolished and now is a parking lot.

Newspaper advertisement

Rectangle, Font, Material property, Parallel

Though much is unknown about this site, an advertisment of the business list Chase Richardson and Homer Smith as owners in 1946.

Since 2017, the NC African American Heritage Commission, completed research on North Carolina’s Green Book sites. The findings have been compiled in this interactive web portal which invites visitors to explore each site in depth through historical vignettes, stories, and images. The project also includes a traveling and virtual exhibition produced to highlight the experiences of African American travelers during the Jim Crow era in North Carolina.

This project was made possible in part by the Institute of Museum and Library Services. The views, findings, conclusions or recommendations expressed in this program do not necessarily represent those of the Institute of Museum and Library Services.

Image Sources(Click to expand)

Advertisement, The Carolinian, August 17, 1946