The Paterson Museum
Backstory and Context
History of the Paterson Museum
The Paterson Museum dates back to 1925, as the City of Paterson Library’s Board of Trustees sought a way to collect and preserve Paterson industrial history. Through donations of natural history items from local residents, the museum began operating in the assembly room of the Danforth Public Library.
The museum moved to the carriage house of former Paterson mayor and philanthropist Nathan Barnert in 1927, and since then, Paterson Museum continued gathering thousands of artifacts and other items.
Due to this growth, the museum needed more space to accommodate its newfound variety of exhibits. That answer came with the completed restorations of the Thomas Rogers Locomotive Erecting Shop in 1982, and the museum moved to its current locale near the famous Great Falls of Passaic.1
Exhibits and Museum Features
Every year, thousands of visitors to the City of Paterson stop by the museum for its renowned diversity of educational exhibits. In addition to the beautiful backdrop of the Great Falls of Passaic, the museum also boasts its local archaeology, history, and mineralogy collections.
Visitors to the museum can traverse natural history and the ancient history of the Native Americans who lived in the region, while in a different gallery, they can discover the evolution of the silk and textile industry in Paterson. Other exhibits display Paterson’s relationship to locomotive manufacturing, Colt arms, and the Holland submarines.2
1.) http://patersonmuseum.com/?p=12 2.) http://patersonmuseum.com/