Clio Logo
The NASCAR Hall of Fame is an 86,500 square foot state-of-the-art facility with over five acres of exhibits and interactive displays which not only share the history of the sport but preserves it. Exhibits allow fans the perspective of drivers, crew members, team owners and others that have shaped the sport. The NASCAR Hall of Fame includes exhibit spaces, a Hall of Honor, interactive entertainment, a restaurant, retail outlet, and a media center. There is even a race-car simulator and on rare occasions, scheduled visits from drivers.

  • Front Entrance
  • NASCAR Hall of Fame Exhibit
  • Nascar Hall of Fame Great Hall Interior

Construction for this 160-million-dollar facility began in 2007 and was finalized in 2010. The project was accomplished by the City of Charlotte, who were accountable for the construction and ownership of the Hall of Fame. However, the Charlotte Regional Visitors Authority run and manage the daily procedures. Licensed by the NASCAR company the Hall brings in thousands of consumers and fans yearly that provide a huge boost to the Charlotte economy.

Inside the Hall of Fame, visitors will find a variety of exhibits and displays, both interactive and educational. The High Octane Theatre seats 278 people and shows films, clips, and movies devoted to the sport of NASCAR. The Great Hall is the main entrance to the facility which hosts a gyrating display, along with audiovisual clips and graphics. The Glory Road exhibit showcases 18 historic vehicles along with an emphasized demonstration of 40 historic and current race tracks. The Hall of Honor is considered a “sacred” area, where NASCAR Hall of Fame inductees are enshrined and honored. To be inducted into the NASCAR Hall of Fame, you must have driven at least 10 years. Another requirement for the Hall of Fame requires the nominee to have been retired for at least three years. Those who did not drive in NASCAR, but were a part of the sport in a significant way must also be active for at least ten years. Like many great privileges though, there are only a select few that get to receive the honor of being in the NASCAR Hall of Fame.

The first class of inductees in 2010 consisted of: the founding family of NASCAR itself, Bill France Sr. and Bill France Jr.; the Cup Series’ only seven-time champs, Dale Earnhardt and Richard Petty (though future Hall-of-Famer, Jimmy Johnson may break the record of 7 championships); and driver and championship-winning team owner, Junior Johnson.

The second class, inducted in 2011, featured: patriarch of the Petty racing clan, Lee Petty; championship drivers David Pearson, Bobby Allison and Ned Jarrett; and championship-winning team owner and WWII infantryman Bud Moore. 

The third class, inducted in January 2012, included: championship-winning drivers Darrell Waltrip and Cale Yarborough; driver and owner for the renowned Wood Brothers, Glen Wood; championship crew chief for Petty Enterprises, Dale Inman; and nine-time NASCAR Modified champion, who becomes the first non-Cup Series driver inducted in the Hall of Fame, Richie Evans.

The Race Week and Heritage Speedway show visitors a behind the scenes look at life during those events and times.
About the Hall. 4/28/17.