Rock Island Lighthouse
Located on Rock Island in the St. Lawrence River, the Rock Island Lighthouse was built in 1848. The island's previous owner, Chesterfield Parson, was its first keeper. The lighthouse today not longer serves as a navigation aid but it does emit light. It is managed by the Rock Island Lighthouse Historical and Memorial Association and is open to the public. The only way to reach the island is by boat and local shuttle service. Visitors can tour the light, including climbing inside, as well as picnic on the island. The lighthouse was placed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1976.
Backstory and Context
The light was refitted in 1855, rebuilt with steel in 1882, and moved outward into the river in 1903 (where it stands today). It was deactivated in 1956. It underwent renovations in 2010-2013.
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rock_Island_Light http://nysparks.com/parks/188/history.aspx http://www.rockislandlighthouse.org/construction.html