Manchester Historic Association's Reseach Center
Established in 1896 by local residents as they commemorated the fifty-year anniversary of their city's incorporation, Manchester Historic Association works to preserve and share the history of the community. Since 1931, the organization has operated a research center within their headquarters building which was made possible through the financial support of local businessman Frank P. Carpenter. The organization also operates the Millyard Museum which offers a variety of exhibits that utilize artifacts and documents from their growing collection.
Research Center located at the corner of Amherst street and Pine Street.
Backstory and Context
The Research Center offers a library for its members that is open to the public for a small fee. The library includes a growing collection of historic documents and photographs, as well as books, manuscripts, city directories, and records of local businesses, schools, and government entities. In addition to these records and newspapers, the library holds many genealogical resources and personal archives that were donated by members of the Manchester community. Among the many unique items that are available at the library is the Dignam Music Collection. This one-of-a-kind collection includes original documents and band music that date back to the 1850s.