Monuments and Memorials Tour, Rockford's Main Street District
Rockford has a rich history of honoring those who contribute to our nation. This tour includes memorials to these individuals in the downtown River and Main Street Districts.
Memorial Hall, also known as Soldiers and Sailors Memorial Hall or Veterans Memorial Hall, is located in Rockford, Illinois. It was built from 1901 to 1903, and originally dedicated to those Winnebago County veterans who served in the Civil War and the Spanish American War. Today the building is administered by the Winnebago County Board and is open to the public. The museum exhibits showcase artifacts from our veterans dating back to the Civil War. It is home to multiple Veterans organizations and available for rental.
Replacement of the old steel bridge had to wait until after WWII because materials were needed for the war effort. The bridge was built in 1948 (has been rebuilt since then) with state, county and city funds. It was dedicated by the Gold Star Mothers of WWII, Unit 74. This dedication is memorialized by matching plaques at the east and west ends of the bridge.
Abraham Lincoln Courthouse Square Dedicated in 2009. A portion of the historic courthouse square is now a lasting tribute to Abraham Lincoln.
The Winnebago County 9/11 Emergency Responders Memorial. Dedicated in 2016. A monument to honor the citizens and emergency responders who died that tragic day and to the lives of all those emergency responders in our own community.
Dedicated May 30, 1994, with funds from the Veterans’ War Memorial Fund established through sale of Camp Grant land at the end of World War II. The sculptor, Gene Horvath, donated the greater part of his time.
Information on the Veterans Hall marker was found in the Garden Cub of Illinois 50th Anniversary book, published in 1977. The marker was listed as: Special Community, Memorial Hall, by the Green Thumb Garden Club of Winnebago County, May 24, 1976. Since it was a "Special Community" marker, the veterans groups or the Veterans Hall contributed to the cost of the marker. Sometimes the dedication dates were changed after the markers were ordered. Re-installed at its present location in July of 2017.
Dedicated in 1966, to Winnebago County veterans who served honorably in the Naval Forces includes an anchor, flagstaff, and anchor chain from USS Tuscaloosa, project of the Navy Club Ship #1.
Armistice - Memorial to Peace. Dedicated in 2016, honoring the end of war, placed here in remembrance of the veterans that have called Veterans Memorial Hall home for over 100 years.