Clio Logo
This is a contributing entry for Buttonwoods Museum and only appears as part of that tour.Learn More.
Ayer-Elliot Hall was given to the Buttonwoods Museum in 1918 in memory Samuel Elliot, founder of one of Haverhill's first major shoe factories, and Sophia Ayer Elliot, a descendent of one of the first English settlers of Haverhill, by their daughters, Emma and Mary. The museum had been open for about 15 years at this time. Today, Ayer-Elliot Hall serves as the permanent exhibit space for the museum. It showcases over 375 years of Haverhill history, from domestic objects, decorative arts, furnishings, and military artifacts, to shoes and other items from Haverhill's shoe industry, as well as archaeological artifacts from the Frederick A. Luce Collection which date back thousands of years.

Ayer-Elliot Dedication Plaque

Rectangle, Font, Gas, Fixture

Ayer-Elliot Display Cases

Shelf, Shelving, Building, Interior design

Native American Life Exhibit

Bookcase, Shelf, Publication, Shelving

Hannah Duston Exhibit

Furniture, Shelf, Bookcase, Table

Queen Slipper City Exhibit

Wood, Display case, Gas, Glass

Ayer-Elliot Hall displays a broad range of artifacts from Haverhill's history, including, but not limited to: firearms, broadsides, tableware, fire safety equipment, dolls, toys, furniture, and other everyday items, primarily from the 18th and 19th centuries. Sitting atop the main display cases are numerous portraits of various prominent former Haverhillites.

There are also several subjects that recieve a more signficant amount of focus in the exhibit space.

  • Native American Life: In the Lands of Pentucket - features archaeological artifacts, educational dioramas, and contemporary portraits
  • Hannah Duston - features Duston's confession of faith (circa 1725), 17th and 18th century artifacts associated with Duston, and 19th and 20th century artifacts related to her legacy's remembrance
  • Queen Slipper City / History of Shoemaking - features examples of shoe components, finished shoes, and shoemaking equipment from both the cottage and factory industrial periods

This exhibit space is open to the public during normal museum hours.