Clio Logo
This is a contributing entry for A Tour Of Historic Cedarburg and only appears as part of that tour.Learn More.

The next property that will be examined today is surrounded by some urban development. But the area where the milll is and the residence next to it still shows the dam that was used for the mill's power structure as well as its influence on the town and in the community of Grafton as well.

Water, Building, Sky, Plant

Henry Wehausen acquired this residence in 1866, built it himself with an inspired Gothic Revival structure, and established it as a cottage. Then, being a businessman himself, he invested in the building of his mill that would be right next to his house, the Excelsior Mill. This mill would be established in 1871. As with Cedarburg mills, the mill was made of limestone and other products. The mill still stands today behind Wehausen's residence. Unfortunately, in the 1880s, the stone structure was engulfed by a fire that left the building empty for a decade. In 1890, John Weber brought the property and circulated it into his new business, the Cedarburg Wire and Wire Nail Company. Decades later into the twentieth century, in 1969, the final production of its wires was produced until the business moved on and was discontinued. When looking at the house, notice that it is built on a slope. Also, notice that the house has a scroll-cut roof and window ornaments, making it another unique structure.

Zimmermann, H. Russell. The Heritage Guidebook: Landmarks And Historical Sites In Southeastern Wisconsin. Milwaukee, Wisconsin. Heritage Banks, 1976. 204.

Zimmermann, H. Russell. The Heritage Guidebook: Landmarks And Historical Sites In Southeastern Wisconsin/Highlights Of Historic Cedarburg. Milwaukee, Wisconsin. Heritage Banks, 1976.

Accessed April 14th 2022. Wisconsin Historical Society, Wisconsin Architecture and History Inventory, Excelsior Flour And Sawmill/Cedarburg Nail Company, Cedarburg, Ozaukee County, Wisconsin.

Image Sources(Click to expand)